The Carmelite Secular Order is made up of local communities. The local community is a visible sign of the Church and consists of people who have made a commitment to the Carmelite Order and to each other.

Each community is governed by an elected Council consisting of the President, three Councillors and the Director of Formation. The community meets monthly for prayer, fellowship, formation and to conduct the business of the community. Each community also holds reflection days or at least one retreat each year.

In this region, there are six OCDS communities in Australia, one in Samoa, one in Tonga and three in New Zealand:

Brisbane, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Community
Meets on the 3rd Sunday of the month
Reflection day on the 5th Sunday
Annual 3 day Retreat usually in May

Sydney, Ashfield, Mary Immaculate Community
Meets on the 3rd Sunday of the month
Annual 7 day Retreat usually in September

Sydney, Varroville, St Elijah Community
Meets on the 1st Sunday of the month
Annual 3 day Retreat usually in May

Melbourne, St John of the Cross Community
Meets on the 4th Sunday of the month

Launceston, Mary Mother of Divine Grace Group
Meets on the 2nd Sunday of the month

Townville Teresian Group
Samoa, Apia Group
Tonga Group
NZ Auckland Holy Family Community
NZ Christchurch Peace of Christ Community

NZ Wellington St Joseph’s Community